Who we are

Our Mission 

The University of Nebraska at Kearney is a public, residential university committed to be one of the nation’s premier undergraduate institutions with excellent graduate education, scholarship, and public service.

Our Vision 

The University of Nebraska at Kearney will achieve national distinction for a high quality, multidimensional learning environment, engagement with community and public interests, and preparation of students to lead responsible and productive lives in a democratic, multicultural society.

Key to such improvement will be: clear focus on mission imperatives, fidelity to historic core values, and continuous and rigorous self-appraisal or assessment of outcomes.

chancellor Kristensen

Douglas A. Kristensen

Chancellor: University of Nebraska at Kearney

kristensend@unk.edu
(308) 865-8208

Chancellor Kristensen was appointed to lead the University of Nebraska at Kearney in July 2002 following a distinguished career in the Nebraska Legislature. He represented the 37th legislative district and, at the time he retired from office, was the longest serving Speaker of the Legislature. He brings to the position a unique knowledge of the issues affecting higher education in the State of Nebraska, a record of dedication to Nebraska citizens, and a long familiarity with the University system in general and the history and mission of the Kearney campus in particular. more (Full Bio) >>

Administrative Staff

Vice Chancellors

Kristen Majocha

Kristen Majocha

Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

majochak@unk.edu
(308) 865-8209

Jon Watts

Jon Watts

Vice Chancellor for Business and Finance

wattsjc@unk.edu
(308) 865-8205

Kelly Bartling

Kelly Bartling

Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management and Marketing

bartlingkh@unk.edu
(308) 865-8455

Other Chancellor's Leadership / Cabinet

George Holman

George Holman

Associate Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs

holmangp@unk.edu
(308) 865-8519

Lucas Dart

Lucas Dart

NU Foundation and Alumni

lucas.dart@nufoundation.org
(308) 698-5270

John Falconer

John Falconer

Senior Advisor to the Chancellor

falconerj@unk.edu
(308) 865-8715

Administrative Council

Tim Jares

Tim Jares

Dean Business and Technology

jareste@unk.edu
(308) 865-1547

Paul Twigg

Paul Twigg

Interim Dean Arts and Sciences

twiggp@unk.edu
(308) 865-8315

Mark Reid

Mark Reid

Dean of the College of Education

reidm@unk.edu
(308) 865-8265

Mark Ellis

Mark Ellis

Dean of Graduate Studies

ellismr@unk.edu
(308) 865-8767

Evan Boyd

Evan Boyd

Dean Library

boyde@unk.edu
(308) 865-8546

Maha Younes

Maha Younes

Chief Diversity Officer

younesm@unk.edu
(308) 865-8741

Douglas Biggs

Douglas Biggs

Interim Assistant Vice Chancellor and Director International Education

biggsdl@unk.edu
(308) 865-8509

Andrea Childress

Andrea Childress

Assistant Vice President, Chief Information Officer, Information Technology

achildress@nebraska.edu
(308) 865-8789

Marc Bauer

Marc Bauer

Director of Athletics

bauermd@unk.edu
(308) 865-8514