Who we are

Our Mission 

The University of Nebraska at Kearney is a public, residential university committed to be one of the nation’s premier undergraduate institutions with excellent graduate education, scholarship, and public service.

Our Vision 

The University of Nebraska at Kearney will achieve national distinction for a high quality, multidimensional learning environment, engagement with community and public interests, and preparation of students to lead responsible and productive lives in a democratic, multicultural society.

Key to such improvement will be: clear focus on mission imperatives, fidelity to historic core values, and continuous and rigorous self-appraisal or assessment of outcomes.

chancellor Kristensen

Douglas A. Kristensen

Chancellor: University of Nebraska at Kearney

kristensend@unk.edu
(308) 865-8208

Chancellor Kristensen was appointed to lead the University of Nebraska at Kearney in July 2002 following a distinguished career in the Nebraska Legislature. He represented the 37th legislative district and, at the time he retired from office, was the longest serving Speaker of the Legislature. He brings to the position a unique knowledge of the issues affecting higher education in the State of Nebraska, a record of dedication to Nebraska citizens, and a long familiarity with the University system in general and the history and mission of the Kearney campus in particular. more (Full Bio) >>

Administrative Staff

Vice Chancellors

Jon Watts

Jon Watts

Vice Chancellor for Business and Finance

wattsjc@unk.edu
(308) 865-8205

Other Chancellor's Leadership / Cabinet

Lucas Dart

Lucas Dart

NU Foundation and Alumni

lucas.dart@nufoundation.org
(308) 698-5270

Neal Schnoor

Neal Schnoor

Senior Advisor to the Chancellor

schnoorn@unk.edu
(308) 865-8715

Administrative Council

Janet Wilke

Janet Wilke

Dean Library

wilkej@unk.edu
(308) 865-8546

Ed Scantling

Ed Scantling

Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Services and Enrollment Management

scantlinge@unk.edu
(308) 865-8669

Paul Plinske

Paul Plinske

Director of Athletics

plinskep@unk.edu
(308) 865-8332