UNK Student Government

Members of UNK Student Government

Students play a major role in ensuring that the UNK experience is something you will never forget. At UNK, our student government is highly involved in all aspects of the university, including student life, academics, and policies.

Much like the federal government, student government is comprised of an executive branch, legislative branch, and judicial branch. Each is charged with specific roles and responsibilities, and the students who serve on them take their job in that role seriously. These are students you know; they are your friends, roommates, classmates, study partners, and teammates. This means that you can depend on them to ensure your voice heard.

Nicole Kent
Nicole Kent


It is truly a privilege to serve as the student body president and student regent for the University of Nebraska at Kearney. Katie Schultis, the student body vice president, and I love to work with students, faculty and staff to achieve a better UNK. We believe UNK is a phenomenal institution, but there is always room to improve. We ran for these positions because we truly care about students, and we want to give them the opportunity to speak up and make their voices heard. Our role is to serve as advocates for the ideas, concerns, needs and suggestions of the student body. We will strive to improve our campus and make it the best place to be for students.

Our advice to you is to “Be Bold.” Seize the opportunities that lie ahead of you. Step outside your comfort zone and try something that you didn’t ever think you would. Be bold not just in your own life, but in your interactions with others. In my time as a Loper, I’ve learned a lot of valuable lessons, but perhaps the most important is that we can all be very powerful, provided we know how powerful we can be. You have the power to make a difference: in your own life and in the lives of others. That’s what Lopers do.

At the end of this year, our term will come to an end, and you probably won’t remember our names or our faces, but I hope you remember the way our interactions made you feel, and the way we genuinely cared for students.

I speak for Katie and myself when I say it is our honor and privilege to work alongside our student body to achieve our goals and address any concerns that arise during our term. Welcome to the UNK family, and I look forward to working with all of you throughout our term.

Email: unkregent@nebraska.edu | Phone: (308) 865-8523

Katis Schultis
Katie Schultis


Email: schultiske@lopers.unk.edu | Phone: (308) 865-8523

The executive branch is comprised of six cabinet members - the student body president, vice president, chief of staff, secretary of the treasury, secretary of student organizations and affairs and secretary of community relations.

The president services as the official student body representative to the administration and public and represents UNK as a student member of the University of Nebraska Board of Regents. He or she has the power to pass or veto legislation passed by the Senate.

The cabinet, chaired by the vice president, consists of the four constitutionally enumerated officers and other directors, advisers and support staff.

Reid Bednar: Chief of Staff
Gustavo Valencia: Secretary of Student Organizations & Affairs
Katie Unvert: Secretary of the Treasury
Leslie Braun: Secretary of Community Relations

The Senate is the legislature of the student body. Students are elected to the Senate from each of the three undergraduate colleges at the University of Nebraska at Kearney and the University of Nebraska graduate college. There are also freshman senators and deciding/pre-professional student senators.

The Senate has the power to pass legislation for the campus, approve new student organizations, appoint student representatives to Faculty Senate and other administrative committees, and perform any other duties concerning student issues or concerns.

The Senate meets at 5:30 p.m. Tuesdays in the Antelope Room of the Nebraskan Student Union. Meetings, which are open to anyone, are held weekly during the school year, except during finals week.

For more information, contact the Student Senate office at 308-865-8395 or Senate advisers at 308-865-8523.


College of Business and Technology

Ryan Brungardt
Mark Barrientos
Max Beal

College of Education

Olivia Slater
Ryley Scherer
Morgan Daubert
Emily Eairleywine

College of Arts & Sciences

Jack Clark
Madison Parshall
Trevor Daubert
MacKenzie Doescher
Emily Baxter
Truman Lauck
Jacob Nutter

University College

Adam Schultis

Speaker of the Senate

Andrew Burival

Secretary of the Senate

Ellery Butterfield

Freshman Senators

Tristan Larson
Tatum Vondra

Student court consists of seven associate justices, a chief justice and secretary of the court. The student body president nominates justices, who must be confirmed by the Senate.

Student Court is handles cases in four primary areas:
  • Student organizations recognized by Student Government
  • Complaints filed in relation to Student Government elections
  • Cases that involve the functioning of Student Government from either the legislative or executive branches
  • Appeals of traffic citations issues by campus police and parking services.

Student Court meets at 4 p.m. Tuesdays during the school year in the Nebraskan Student Union. These meetings are private, but you are welcome to attend if your case is being reviewed.

For more information, contact the Student Government office at 308-865-8395 or the Court Advisor at 308-865-8523.

Information on how to file a formal complaint

Student Court members

Keith Everitt, Student Court Chief Justice
Treyvon Bokoskie, Student Court Secretary
Sierra Butcher, Student Court Justice
Breanna Hemphill, Student Court Justice
Trevor Donahey, Student Court Justice
Sam Novicki, Student Court Justice