HONORARY DEGREES CONFERRED

Recipient

Year

Title

Unit/Department

2022 Eileen Joan Carpenter Civic Leader, Student Advocate 2021 Vikki J. Deuel Teacher, Principal 2019 Jonathan Thomas Bokenkamp Screenwriter and Executive Producer 2008 Mahabir Pun Educator, Digital Pioneer (Nepal) 2008 Dr. Ronald Roskens President, University of Nebraska 2006 Peter G. Peterson Civic Leader 2004 Joseph M. McFadden Professor and Dean, Kearney State 2003 Richard K. Davidson Business and Transportation Leader 2003 Stephen R. Lawhead Author 2003 Frank B. Morrison, Sr. Nebraska Governor 2002 William R Nester UNK Chancellor 2000 William Jefferson Clinton 42nd President of the United States 2000 Stanley O. Ikenberry President American Council on Education 1999 George W. Lundeen Sculptor 1998 Tom Allan Journalist William Sloane Coffin 1998 Theologian, Activist 1997 J. James Exon US Senator, Nebraska Governor 1996 Dr. Marvin H. Caruthers Educator, Researcher 1996 Merle Hinrichs Published, Entrepreneur 1996 Dr. Donald M. Stewart College Board President 1994 Frances Hesselbein Nonprofit Business Leader 1993 Dr. Harold L. Enarson National Education Leader Leland LS. Holdt 1993 Corporate Leader 1993 Dr. Edwin C. Nelson President, Chadron State Samuel D. Proctor 1993 Educator, Theologian 1992 Dr. W. Ann Reynolds Chancellor, Educational Leader 1991 Dr. Milton J. Hassel President, Kearney State 1991 Dr. Robert C. Rosenlof Physician and Humanitarian 1990 Robert M. Spire Nebraska Attorney General 1990 Dr. Halvor Christensen Educator 1990 Charles M. 'Mike' Harper Corporate and Civic Leader 1990 Clifton K. Hillegass Civic Leader and Art Patron 1990 Robert M. Spire Nebraska Attorney General Businessman, Civic Leader 1989 Larry Ludden 1989 John Gottschalk Corporate and Civic Leader 1989 Robert Welsch Folklorist, Educator, TV Personality 1988 Kay A. Orr Nebraska Governor 1988 Michael B. Yanney Corporate and Civic Leader 1987 Virginia Smith Congresswoman 1987 Carl C. Spelts Businessman, Civic Leader 1986 Brendan J. McDonald President, Kearney State Nebraska Governor 1985 Robert Kerry 1985 James Knapp Attorney, Civic Leader 1985 Dr. Joe E. Lutjeharms Nebraska Education Leader Doctor of Humane Letters

Doctor of Humane Letters Doctor of Education Doctor of Fine Arts Doctor of Humane Letters Doctor of Science Doctor of Humane Letters Doctor of Science Doctor of Humane Letters Doctor of Commercial Science Doctor of Humane Letters Doctor of Humane Letters Doctor of Law