Financial Aid


Incoming Freshmen

All first year applicants who apply for admission to the University of Nebraska at Kearney will be evaluated for scholarship eligibility based on information included in the admissions application. We will notify scholarship recipients of their awards shortly after they have been admitted to the university.

Academic merit scholarships for which UNK applicants may qualify are listed on the following pages for Resident or Non-Resident students.

Click on your residency status. 

Transfer Students

The application for admission is the application for transfer student scholarships. Students transferring to UNK for the 2014-15 academic year must be admitted by April 1, 2014 to be considered for any transfer scholarships (with the exception of the Non-Resident Scholarship). Please read on to learn more about transfer student scholarship opportunities at UNK. 

Transfer Regents Scholarship:  This scholarship pays full tuition for up to 90 credit hours or until graduation with first bachelor’s degree, whichever comes first.  Four of these scholarships are awarded annually to transfer students from Nebraska community colleges.  Eligible students must have at least a 3.5 cumulative grade point average and a minimum of 45 completed hours from their community college.  Renewal requires completion of 24 credit hours each academic year and a cumulative UNK GPA of 3.25 or better.  Final selection will be based on review of the student’s transcripts. 

Transfer Student Scholarship:  This Scholarship is a tuition waiver of up to $2000 annually for two years (four semesters). This scholarship can be awarded to any admitted transfer student (from any institution) who has been admitted by April 1 with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.25. Final selection is based on review of the student’s transcripts. Renewal requires completion of 24 hours each academic year and a cumulative UNK GPA of 3.0 or better.

Non-Resident Scholarship:  This scholarship pays the difference between resident and non-resident tuition for eligible students.  Admitted transfer students with a cumulative transfer GPA from all prior institutions of 3.0 or better are eligible for this scholarship. Students transferring to UNK for the 2014-15 academic year must be admitted by August 1, 2014. Students transferring to UNK for the Spring 2014 semester must be admitted by December 1, 2013. The scholarship is renewable for up to eight semesters or until graduation, and it requires the completion of 24 semester hours each year and a cumulative UNK GPA of 3.0.

If a student does not qualify for the scholarship based on the cumulative transfer GPA, there are some other criteria that may be met to qualify for the Non-Resident scholarship. To apply based on these other criteria, please Click Here for more information and access to this application.

Pepsi Phi Theta Kappa Student Scholarship:  This scholarship is for $2000 annually for two years (four semesters). New incoming undergraduate transfer students who are fully admitted by April 1, have a minimum transfer grade point average of 3.0, who transfer from a Nebraska community college, and who are members of Phi Theta Kappa honorary are eligible. Students must also fill out the online Pepsi Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship application by April 1. Students selected for this scholarship must demonstrate a commitment to service-learning. The student will be required to continue that commitment for renewal of this scholarship while attending UNK and must be a full-time UNK student.
    For more information please contact:   
    Cyndi Schroeder
    Coordinator of Academic Support Services
    University of Nebraska at Kearney
    Student Records & Registration-Founders Hall
    Kearney, NE 68849-1225, (308) 865-8527

Davis-Chambers Transfer Scholarship:  The Davis-Chambers Transfer Scholarship recognizes academically talented students from diverse backgrounds who may find it difficult to afford higher education.  First consideration for this scholarship is given to current Davis-Chambers Scholars at Nebraska Community Colleges.  The typical award is $2000.  Students must file a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) for 2014-2015 to be considered for this scholarship.  Additionally, students must have at least a 3.25 GPA and have completed 45 community college credit hours at the time of submission.  This application must be received by April 1, 2014 for full consideration. Please CLICK HERE to access the Davis-Chambers Transfer Scholarship application

Second, Third, and Fourth Year Army ROTC Scholarships Available. Click here for more information

Continuing Students

The Continuing Student Scholarships are made possible by gifts to the University of Nebraska at Kearney from generous donors. The scholarships are permanently endowed and invested by the University of Nebraska Foundation. The income from the investment pays for the scholarships.

UNK offers over 400 separate scholarships which, combined, provide move than $1,000,000 in assistance to our students. Last year over 800 students received at least one Continuing Student scholarship.

Eligible students may apply for the Continuing Student Scholarships each year from February 1 through midnight on the last day of February by accessing the online application on MyBLUE. All applicants will be notified of their results during the month of June.  

Current Continuing Student Scholarships  

Other Programs of Interest for Continuing Students. 

Note: You may have scholarships that you have received from organizations other than UNK. If this is the case, these scholarships need to be reported to UNK so that we can accurately receive and apply them to your account. You may click here and fill in the online form. This form submits to our office. Please fill out and submit the form for each scholarship you will receive.