CSIT Student Awards

Spring 2015 CSIT Outstanding Graduate, Daniel Russell

The CSIT Department selected Daniel Russell as the spring 2015 outstanding graduate. Daniel graduated cum laude with a Bachelor of Science Comprehensive Computer Science degree. Daniel completed several impressive class projects, including the ThreeADay website/app for storing recipes and meal planning, and a virtual reality snowboarding simulation using Oculus Rift with the Wii Balance Board. He also completed a computer vision research project entitled Utilizing Computer Vision to Control the Spread of Horn Flies for the USDA under the direction of Dr. John Hastings, which he presented at NCUR in 2014.

Spring 2014 CSIT Outstanding Graduate, Tyler McConville

The CSIT Department selected McConville as the spring 2014 outstanding graduate. Tyler graduated summa cum laude with a Bachelor of Science degree in Applied Computer Science and a minor in Telecommunications. He completed a ubiquitous computing research project with Dr. Harms, entitled Java Electronic Butler (J.E.B.), which he presented at the UNK Student Research Day and at NCUR.

Fall 2013 CSIT Outstanding Graduate, Spencer Knight

The CSIT Department selected Spencer Knight as the Fall 2013 outstanding graduate. Spencer graduated cum laude with a Computer Science Comprehensive degree. Spencer was the president of the ACM organization and worked as the CSIT System Administrator.  He completed a research project with Dr. Hastings, entitled Overall Competence in Case Based Reasoning, which he presented at the UNK Fall Research Symposium and at the National Conference on Undergraduate Research (NCUR).

Spring 2013 CSIT Outstanding Graduates

The CSIT Department selected Josh Brummer and Daniel Houle as the outstanding graduates for spring 2013. This award is based on scholarly activities, academic achievement and service to the department, university and community.

Josh Brummer- Josh graduated in May 2013 with Mathematics Comprehensive and Computer Science Comprehensive majors. Josh served as the Vice President of Recognition of the National Residence Hall Honorary for two years, where he created a database system for tracking membership activities for this organization. He served in multiple roles for the Phi Gamma Delta fraternity. Additionally he held the position of President of his residence hall for two years. Josh completed a summer research experience at Kansas State University where he designed and developed an application for running 5 separate tests on conduit strength for the USDA. Josh presented a portion of this research at the 2012 UNK Student Research Day.

Daniel Houle- Daniel graduated in May 2013 with an Applied Computer Science major and Business Administration minor. Daniel created a gamed called Inflatable Defense that you can download from Google Play. In this game, the user must stop the “evil” balls from floating across the screen. The balls use better and better artificial intelligence as the user gets to higher levels. 

Recent CSIT Alumni Awards
  • Mary Vaughn (CS, 1978) received the 2014 Distinguished UNK Alumni Award.
  • Angela Emrick-Hollman (CS, 2001) and her husband, Travis Hollman (2000), of Kearney, received the 2014 Young Alumnus Award.
  • Bob Brindamour (CIS, 1994) Inducted into UNK Athletic Hall of Fame, 2012.
Recent CSIT External Awards
  • UNK team (including Information Networking and Telecommunications (INT) faculty Dr. Angela Hollman, CSIT student Devin McIntyre, CSIT student Mahugnon Oliver Avande,  INT student Nery Cabrera, INT student Jesus Moreno, CSIT student Doug Perez, and CSIT student Michael Odell) won the 2015 Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition (CCDC), for the North Central Region
  • UNK CSIT Robotics Team of Ian Lim and Keathan Fertig placed third at the 2015 Midwest Instruction and Computing Symposium (MICS) robotics competition. 
  • UNK CSIT Robotics Team of Travis Anderson, Tyler Neal, Naoki Ishikawa won the 2013 MICS robotics competition.
  • Jose Martinez, AIM Institute 2008 College Intern of the Year.
  • Holly Esquivel, Computing Research Association’s Outstanding Undergraduate Award, Honorable Mention, 2007.
  • Holly Esquivel, CRA-W Distributed Mentor Program, Summer 2006.
  • Davin Jones, Dustin Kozal, Aaron Graddy and Brett Chloupek, Peter Kiewit Student Entrepreneurial Award, 2005.
  • Dustin G. Kozal, Computing Research Association’s Outstanding Undergraduate Award, Honorable Mention, 2005.
  • Davin Jones, Mary Jane and William R. Nester Student Leadership Award, Spring 2004.

Recent External Faculty Awards 

  • Sherri Harms, Outstanding Volunteer, First Lego League of Nebraska. (January 11, 2014).
  • Sherri Harms, Marquis Who's Who 5 year member, Marquis Who's Who, Leadership, International. (December 4, 2013).
  • Sherri Harms, Academic Who's Who Among Executives and Professionals Member, Academic Who's Who, Leadership, International. (August 20, 2013).
  • John Hastings, International IPM (Integrated Pest Management) Award for Excellence, 2012.
  • John Hastings, Best Paper Award, Proceedings of the 42nd Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences (HICSS-42), January, 2009.