CSIT Advisory Council

The UNK CSIT Advisory Council was established in the fall of 2008.

The UNK CSIT Advisory Council continues to be very active. Current members (in alphabetical order) are: Jim Allen, VP of IT, Berkley Technology Services, Des Moines, IA; Jeff Blackmon, Technical Consultant for Risk Management and Security, Strategic Continuity Solutions, Olathe, KS; Dr. Matt Dwyer, Professor of Computer Science and Chair, Department of Computer Science, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE; Pete Evans, Oracle Applications Developer for the Douglas-Omaha Technology Commission; Rob Harbols, Web System Development, Buckle, Inc., Kearney, NE; Ali Oran, Applications Development Director, Farm Credit Services of America, Omaha, NE; and Scott Weitzel, Patent Attorney, Sheridan Ross, Broomfield, CO. Faculty members are Shahram Alavi, John Hastings, and Matt Miller. Student members are Sean Stahly (CS) and Kyle Hasenkamp (IT). Dr. Harms serves as the secretary, and plans, organizes and facilitates the Council activities.

As stated in the Bylaws: “The Council shall provide leadership in and promote the development of the Computer Science (CS) and Information Technology (IT) programs as it relates to and meets the needs of the students, UNK and the industry. The Council shall advise the CSIT faculty and administration on matters related to the Computer Science and Information Systems professions and graduate school entrance requirements”. The Council will meet once a year for a one day on-campus meeting and conduct other related business via email and phone conferences.

The Council meet via phone conferences throughout the year and holds an annual on-campus meeting in March. At these meetings, the Council meets with representatives from UNK Admissions to discuss recruiting, scholarships and marketing the IT careers to students; representatives from the University of Nebraska Foundation and the UNK Alumni Association to discuss engage activities. They also meet with UNK administrators, including Dr. Peter Longo, Interim Dean of the College of Natural and Social Sciences to discuss the future direction of the CSIT Department. They discuss the CSIT programs with students, and meet with the CSIT faculty to discuss curricular issues.